Rhodes Scholarships For Canada

Rhodes Trust
September 27, 2024

When different people come together in a shared spirit, exciting new things begin. The Rhodes Scholarship is a life-changing opportunity to join outstanding young people from around the world to study at the University of Oxford. Applications for the next round of Rhodes Scholarships open in June 2024.

The first Canadian Rhodes Scholars took up residence in Oxford in 1904, and since that time over a thousand Canadians have been awarded the Scholarship.

The Scholarships in Canada are administered by six regional selection committees as detailed below:

  • Three Scholarships to: The Prairie Region (Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta)
  • Two Scholarships each to: Ontario, Quebec, and the Maritime Region (New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island)
  • One Scholarship each to: British Columbia and Newfoundland & Labrador

How to Apply

Applicants currently studying in Canada are eligible to apply in a region based on either of the following two criteria:

  • The region in which you are ordinarily resident. If you are ordinarily resident in the Yukon, Northwest Territories or Nunavut, you may apply in the Prairies Region.
  • The region in which you attended a university that has granted or will be granting you a degree. Exception: applicants who have attended or are attending a university in Newfoundland & Labrador must also be resident in that region.

To apply to the Rhodes Scholarships for Canada, a student must first earn the endorsement of their undergraduate institution. You can find more information about this in the Information for Candidates for Canada.

Learn more about the application process in this Application Overview.

Opening date: 3 June 2024
Closing date: 11:59pm Pacific Time, 27 September 2024