CMHA BC Scholarships (Assorted)

July 15, 2020

Since 1982, CMHA BC has been helping people with mental illness further their pursuit of post-secondary education through our scholarship and bursary programs. We are committed to lowering access barriers and would like to ensure that these scholarships and bursaries are available to anyone in British Columbia with lived experience who is pursuing higher education. Learn more about our values.

Several awards are available each year to BC post-secondary students who live with mental illness or addiction. Applicants may only apply for one of the awards listed below in a given year. Only electronic submissions will be accepted.

Lorne Fraser Scholarship for Mental Health Promotion
Scholarships worth $1000 and $2000 are available to two post-secondary students entering the second, third, or fourth year of an undergraduate program, or any stage of a graduate program, whose education and career goals are related to mental health promotion.
Apply online

Lorne Fraser Educational Bursary
Several $700 bursaries are available to students for the tuition costs of a post-secondary education at an accredited BC institution.
Apply online

Mental Health Fine Arts Bursary (FAB) Award
Two $1,000 bursaries available for students enrolled or accepted to a post-secondary program in the field of fine art.
Apply online

Indigenous Mental Health Fine Arts Bursary (FAB) Award
Held at Vancouver Foundation, one $1,000 bursary for an Indigenous post-secondary student 18 years or older, who is pursuing fine arts at Emily Carr University of Art and Design and has accessed support/mental health services.
Apply online

Janice Lee Blue Wave Youth Bursary
Several $700 bursaries are available for BC youth under the age of 20 who have experienced a significant mental health or substance use challenge.
Apply online

How to Apply

Please note: Submissions received by mail or fax will be disqualified. Individuals who submit more than one application for the same year will be evaluated on the application submitted first only. An applicant may win a bursary or scholarship more than once, but will not be eligible to win an award two years in a row.