CFUW aboriginal women's award (AWA)

CFUW Aboriginal Women’s Award (AWA)


The 2020-2021 CFUW Aboriginal Women’s Award (AWA) has a value range of $10,000 – $25,000. It is also renewable for the coming year. So, here’s everything you need to know about the Award. 

Quick History: The CFUW Aboriginal Women’s Award (AWA)

In 2015, the Education Council-Wolfville transferred the proceeds of their education fund to the CFUW Charitable Trust in order to establish a new award. This would become the CFUW Aboriginal Women’s Award (AWA). Additionally, this award honours Dr. Marion Elder Grant’s lifelong commitment to the education of women. As the 11th CFUW President (1949 – 1952), CFUW Wolfville President, and Dean of Women and Professor of Psychology, Acadia University, Dr. Grant holds an outstanding record of leadership.  

Important Candidate Eligibility Criteria

Furthermore, to be considered for the Award, you must be:

  • A Canadian Aboriginal woman.
  • Studying in Canada.
  • Currently holding (or will hold) an undergraduate university degree (or its equivalent) before the CFUW Aboriginal Women’s Award for which she applied is granted.
  • Must apply to be a full-time student in any year of an eligible program at a recognized or accredited Canadian post-secondary degree-granting institution. 

Which Programs Do They Consider Eligible? 

Eligible programs are the academic programs that a CFUW Aboriginal Women’s Award (or Renewal Applicant) studies. Therefore, eligible programs include:

  • Bachelor of Laws (LLB) and Juris Doctor (JD): Programs leading to a first degree in law.
  • Medical Doctor (MD) and Doctor of Optometry (OD): Programs that lead to first degrees in medicine. 
  • Programs that lead to qualifying for a license to practice as a Nurse Practitioner. This can be in a province or territory of the graduate’s choice. 
  • Programs that lead to a Master’s degree in fields focusing on important Canadian aboriginal issues at the time the Aboriginal Women’s Award is offered. This is defined by the most recent Canadian report by the UN Special Rapporteur on the rights of indigenous peoples. 

Which Fellowship and Awards do the CFUW Charitable Trust fund?

Also, if you wish to see more opportunities, please review the list of Fellowship and Awards below:

  • CFUW Dr. Margaret McWilliams Pre-Doctoral Fellowship
  • CFUW Memorial Fellowship
  • Ruth Binnie Fellowship
  • CFUW Dr. Alice E. Wilson Awards
  • CFUW 1989 Ecole Polytechnique Commemorative Awards
  • Canadian Home Economics Association (CHEA) Fellowship
  • CFUW Linda Souter Humanities Award
  • CFUW Bourse Georgette LeMoyne
  • Currently Closed: CFUW Aboriginal Women’s Award (AWA)
  • CFUW Elizabeth & Rachel Massey Award
  • CFUW 100th Anniversary Legacy Fellowship (NEW FELLOWSHIP OPPORTUNITY!)

When is The Application Deadline?

Please submit your application by December 14, by 11:59 PM EST. You can use this link to learn more before you fill out an application. However, the CFUW Aboriginal Women’s Award (AWA) is closed for applications in 2020. Therefore, the next competition opens in June 2021. 

Is There a Fee?

In addition, for each CFUW Fellowship or Award application, there is a filing fee of $60.

So, do you have an interest in applying? Then review the How To Apply steps for the CFUW AWA next!