Canadian Mineral Industry Education Foundation

March 31, 2024

The Canadian Mineral Industry Education Foundation has been offering scholarships since 1964 to undergraduate students with a strong interest in a career in the mining industry. CMIEF was created to support and encourage today’s students to become tomorrow’s mining leaders – ensuring innovation, growth and talent succession in the industry.

Students enrolled in a geology, mining or metallurgy program in a Canadian university, or any other discipline related to the mining industry, are eligible to obtain a scholarship. Recipients receive $1,000 per academic term until the degree program is completed, provided that satisfactory academic performance is maintained and that work experience in the mining industry is obtained between academic terms.

How to Apply

To be eligible, applicants must meet the following requirements:

  1. Be a Canadian citizen or permanent resident in Canada.

  2. Have successfully qualified to enter in September the second, third or fourth year of a degree course in disciplines related to the mining industry at a Canadian university as a full-time student.

  3. Consideration will be given to the applicants’ past work experiences in the mining industry.

To apply:

  1. Complete the application form in full.

  2. Please include (file upload at the bottom of this form) official transcripts of academic record or an unofficial transcript signed and dated by the Registrar, your résumé (CV) and a letter outlining your career aims and objectives, scanned in PDF format.

Questions can be directed to

The selection of scholarship awards will normally be based on the information received. Applications may be supported by other documents in addition to those requested such as reference letters, publications, or any other items you feel are appropriate. Ensure that your application is complete and that you forward all the necessary documentation.

Applicants will be notified in June of the status of their application.

Scholarships will be awarded in May 2024 to students who will be attending university in September 2024.